Due Diligence / M&A

It all relates to the issues linked to the acquisition and sale of enterprises. When a potential buyer is interested by a target, he usually has very little information on that target. Even during the negotiations, he usually only receives the information provided by the management of the target. The latter generally covers number of financial, legal and tax risks that the management of the target will not disclose, or risks it may also not be aware of. Such risks may be of that importance that it leads to an abortion of the sale (« deal breaker ») or are sufficiently high to have an influence on the sale price.

The involvement of external specialists is therefore necessary. First, specialists have the specific know-how of their job and can therefore explore and evaluate risks much more in detail than the management of a company could do and second, they have a full independence in the transaction, which guarantees the exactness and objectivity of the risks discovered. Based on the expert’s report, the buyer can freely and fully informed decide on the opportunity of the transaction and on the fair price of it.

Our extensive experience in due diligence allows us to offer to our client a full tax and legal due diligence, including a verification of the issues relating to social security. We have adequate partners to perform the financial due diligence, making possible the delivery of one single report, presenting all the risks in a global outfit.

Our expertise includes also to the design of the tax and legal acquisition structure, to the completion of the operation, to the negotiation of the tax rulings where necessary and to the follow-up of the post-integration phase.

Due diligence fiscale, légale et financière, acquisition et vente

 

Il s’agit ici de toute la problématique liée à l’acquisition ou la vente d’entreprises. Lorsqu’un acheteur s’intéresse à une cible, il a en général très peu d’informations sur cette cible. De même, dans les négociations, il ne reçoit en général que les informations fournies par le management de la cible. Pourtant, celle-ci couve en général bon nombre de risques financiers, juridiques et fiscaux que le management se gardera bien de dévoiler et qu’il ignore même peut-être en toute bonne foi. Ces risques peuvent soit être tellement importants qu’ils annulent la vente (« deal breaker »), soit suffisamment élevés pour avoir une influence sur le prix de la vente.

L’intervention de spécialistes externes est alors indispensable. D’une part ces spécialistes disposent du savoir-faire propre à leur profession et peuvent ainsi explorer et évaluer les risques bien plus en détail que ce qu’un management d’entreprise pourrait faire et d’autre part, ils disposent d’une indépendance totale dans la transaction, qui garantit la véracité et l’objectivité des risques découverts. Sur la base du rapport rendu par l’expert, l’acheteur pourra alors décider librement et en toute connaissance de cause de l’opportunité de la transaction et du juste prix de celle-ci.

Notre longue expérience en matière de due diligence nous permet d’offrir à nos clients un audit fiscal et légal complet. Nous possédons également les partenaires adéquats pour réaliser un audit financier ou comptable, ce qui nous permet d’offrir à nos clients un seul rapport présentant les risques de manière globale.

Notre expertise s’étend également au design de la structure fiscale et légale d’acquisition, à la réalisation de l’opération, négociation des accords fiscaux nécessaires et au suivi post-intégration de la structure mise en place.